Delete a Camera

Learn how to delete or factory-reset a Verkada camera

Updated yesterday

Sometimes you need to remove a camera from your account because you want to use it in a different organization or it is no longer needed. When you delete a Verkada camera, you can remove a camera from your organization and erase all recorded footage.

Important. When you delete a camera from Verkada Command, it erases all of its recorded footage and cannot be recovered. To re-add the camera, make sure you document the camera's serial number.

Delete a camera

Command desktop

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Devices.

  2. Check the box to select the camera(s) you want to delete.

  3. At the top right, click Delete.

  4. On Delete Devices, enter the verification code and click Delete.

Command app

  1. Log in to the Command app.

  2. Find the camera you want to delete.

  3. Press and hold the camera.

  4. Tap Edit Device.

  5. Tap Delete Camera.

  6. When prompted to confirm, enter the 4-digit code.

Reset a camera

If you need to erase footage on a camera and start over:

  1. Once the camera is removed from your organization, follow the steps in Add a Device to Your Command Account to re-add the camera to your Command account.

Note: This option resets the camera name, site, settings, and map location.

Related resource


Need more help? Contact Verkada Support

Did this answer your question?