Skip to main content
Add and Modify Access Groups

Learn how to use access groups to assign door access permissions to groups of users

Updated this week

Access Admins and Access Managers are allowed to create, modify, and remove access groups and to add or remove specific users from them. Learn more about Roles and Permissions for Access Control.

Note: You cannot badge into a door unless you are in an access group with at least one access level associated.

Add access groups

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Access.

  2. On the left navigation, click Access Users and Groups .

  3. Click Groups > Create Group.

  4. When prompted, enter a name and choose the users to add to your group.

  5. Click Done to redirect to your new access group.

Modify access groups

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Access.

  2. On the left navigation, click Access Users and Groups .

  3. Click Groups and select a group to modify.

  4. You can modify access groups in these ways:

    1. Add or remove users

    2. Add or remove access levels

    3. Change the group name

Add users

  1. With your access group open, at the top right, click Add Members.

  2. Once selected, you should see a list of users that you can add to your group. You can select as many users as you want.

  3. Click Done when finished.

Remove users

  1. Hover over or search for the user that you want to remove and check the box next to the user's name.

  2. Click Remove Member. Alternatively, you can set an End Date to schedule when a users permissions will be revoked.

Add access levels

  1. With your access group open, select Access.

  2. With the Access tab open, click Add Access Levels.

  3. You should now be able to select one or more access levels to apply to your group.

  4. Click Add when done.

You should now see a list of doors that your group has permission to access.

Remove access levels

  1. With your access group open, select Access.

  2. With the Access tab open, mouse over any access level that you want to remove. With the access level highlighted, you should see an X to the right of the access level name.

  3. Select X and then Remove to confirm.

Related resources


Need more help? Contact Verkada Support.

Did this answer your question?