Skip to main content
Decommission an Access Controller

Learn how to factory reset an access controller

Updated over a week ago

To decommission or reset your access controller to factory settings, you first need to decommission it from Verkada Command. This also deletes all user-related data from the controller and allows it to be transferred to a new organization.

Required. To decommission or reset your access controller to factory settings, you must be an Org Admin, an Access Admin, or a Site Access Admin for the controller's site. Learn more about the Roles and Permissions for Command and specifically for Access Control.

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Devices.

  2. From the device list, select the controller you want to decommission.

  3. At the right, click the the right arrow to open the device's page.

  4. At the top right, click Settings.

  5. Click Decommission.

  6. When prompted, enter generated verification code to complete the request, and then click Confirm. Decommissioning also removes associated doors. This cannot be undone.

The controller should reset. Wait 5 minutes before adding the controller to an organization.

Related resources


Need more help? Contact Verkada Support

Did this answer your question?