Keycode Management
Learn about keycode management in Verkada Alarms
With keycode management, each user has one keycode associated with their Command profile. Users can use their keycode at any alarm site where they have arm/disarm access. This provides three key benefits:
One keycode across sites: Users can use the same keycode at every alarm site where they have arm/disarm access. You do not need to configure a separate keycode for each site.
Manage access through users and groups: Grant arm/disarm access directly to a Command user or group. Access can apply to specific partitions, an entire site, or multiple sites.
Clear visibility with the Alarm User role: The Alarm User role makes it easy to see who has arm/disarm access to each site or partition.
Permissions
Org Admins and Site Admins automatically inherit Alarm User (Site) role permissions:
Org Admins can arm/disarm all partitions across all sites in the organization via Command and keypad.
Site Admins can arm/disarm all partitions site-wide via Command and keypad, but only for the sites where they are a Site Admin.
Migrate to unified keycode management
Select the Migrate to a new keycode experience banner in Command to review your organization’s migration status. If you take no action, Verkada will automatically migrate your organization after November 9, 2026.

Before your organization can migrate to unified keycode management, Command checks for previous keycode conflicts:
No conflicts found
Your organization can migrate immediately. Select Migrate to start using unified keycode management.

Conflicts found
Command displays the conflicts that must be resolved. Only Org Admins can download the conflict report and resolve these conflicts. If you take no action, Verkada will force-migrate your organization on December 7, 2026.

There are three types of conflicts:
The same user has different keycodes at different sites
Choose one keycode for the user and update their keycode at each alarm site so it is the same across all sites.
Two or more users have the same keycode
Assign each user a unique keycode so that no two users share the same keycode.
A user’s keycode matches a general keycode
Update either the user’s keycode or the general keycode at the affected site so they no longer match.
Contact Verkada Support if you need help resolving conflicts.
Grant Alarm User role permissions
There are three ways to give a user arm/disarm access to a site. See Roles and permissions for more information.
In Verkada Command, go to All Products > New Alarms.
Select your alarm site.
In the left navigation, select Keycodes.
At the top right, click Add.
Search for and select a user, then click Add.
Once the user is added, select whether to grant site-wide permissions or permissions only to a subset of partitions.
Select Save.
In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.
Select Users & Permissions > Users.
Select a user to grant permissions.
Click Manage to the right of Site Roles.
Select Alarm.
Select the Alarm User (Site) role for site-wide access or the Alarm User (Partitions) role for access to specific partitions within the site.
Click Save.
In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.
Select Users & Permissions > Groups.
Select a Command group that has Alarm User role permissions granted. If you need to grant the group permissions:
At the top, click Roles.
Click Manage to the right of Site Roles.
Select Alarm.
Select the Alarm User (Site) role for site-wide access or the Alarm User (Partitions) role for access to specific partitions within the site.
Click Save.
At the top, click Members > Add Member.
Search for and select a user.
Click Done.
A group’s access can apply to:
An entire site.
One or more partitions within a site.
Multiple sites through an organization-based group.
Manage keycodes
In Verkada Command, go to All Products > New Alarms.
Select your alarm site.
In the left navigation, select Keycodes.
Select the user > Keycodes.
To the right of a user's keycode, select Regenerate to generate a random keycode, or select Edit to enter your own keycode.
In Verkada Command, go to All Products > New Alarms.
Select your alarm site.
In the left navigation, select Keycodes.
Select the user > Keycodes.
To the right of a user's keycode, click Delete.
General and duress keycodes
General keycodes and duress keycodes remain site-scoped. Add and manage both from the General Credentials and Duress Keycode tabs on the alarm site's Keycodes page.
Last updated
Was this helpful?

