The People page is used to view all faces seen by every camera in the organization. This can be used to quickly and easily determine where and when a particular person was last seen, find new faces that have been seen, and quickly configure notifications when specific people are sighted.

To learn more about how individual faces are identified, see this article on people analytics.

How to Access

To Access the People page, select People on the left-hand navigation bar.

Finding a Person

Searching

On desktop, use the search bar on the People page to search for a particular person. Enter a name or choose from the dropdown box. As the name is typed, matching results are shown in the dropdown box. To view more details about a specific person, simply select that person's name, and you will be taken to that person's profile page.

See this article for a detailed explanation on how to search for people using our mobile apps.

It is also possible to search for a person using the global search bar at the top of Verkada Command. Type a person's name and select their name, you are then taken to their profile.

Filtering and Sorting

It is possible to filter the People page to show People of Interest, named people, and unnamed people. To do this, select the filter button next to the search bar, and make the desired selection.

You can also sort the faces on the People page. To do this, select the button with the double arrows next to the filter button. This brings up a dropdown, allowing the faces to be sorted by name (Alphabetically), the time the person was last seen, or the date the profile was created.

Drilling Down to a Specific Person

Selecting a person will open that person's profile page and will show thumbnail images for all the instances where that person was last sighted. Each thumbnail image includes a timestamp and the camera name. To view the corresponding video footage, simply select on the thumbnail image that is of interest. If face spotted was not this person, select the three dots on the thumbnail, and select Not This Person

Naming a Person

Newly detected faces that the cameras have not seen previously are unnamed by default. To name a person, go to the person's profile page and select on Unnamed Profile near the top. Then simply type a name.

Setting Person of Interest Notifications

To set up notifications when a particular face is detected, select the three dots next to the person's name in their profile and select Make Person of Interest. A bell icon is then shown on their feature photo.

To disable notifications for that particular face, select the three dots next to the person's name in their profile and select Remove Person of Interest.

Person of Interest notification settings are now done from the people page instead of the notification page. For more information on Person of Interest notifications, see this page.

Deleting a Profile

To delete a profile, select the three dots next to the person's name in their profile and select Delete Profile.

Creating Profiles

You can manually create a profile by uploading an image of a person's face. To do this, select Add on the top right from the People page and follow the steps. You will need to ensure that the image you select clearly shows the face of only one person (close up). Also, the image should be in JPG or PNG format and be less than 15 MB.

Merging Profiles

When the cameras detect the face of a person that already has an existing profile, Command works to automatically match the detected face to the correct profile. However, there may be instances where this does not occur and a new profile is created instead. To correct this, you can merge multiple profiles together into one profile from the People page.

To do this, select the profiles you want to merge by using the tick boxes on the top left of each face and select Merge into one on the bottom right. The profiles will then merge and you will be given an option to view the new profile for that person.

One other way to merge profiles is to check the merge suggestions that Command provides. On both the People page and the profile page for a specific person, you may see a Same Person? dialogue box that asks you if two faces are of the same person. If you answer yes, the two associated profiles will be merged.

Finally, you can merge profiles by changing the name of a profile. If the name you would like to assign to a profile matches the name of an existing profile, you will have the option to merge the two profiles into one.

Video Example

Did this answer your question?