All Collections
Command
Users and Permissions
Manage Users in Your Org Account
Manage Users in Your Org Account

Learn how to add, deactivate, reactivate, or delete a user from your organization

Updated over a week ago

Your Verkada Command software license includes unlimited users. Use this article to learn more about how to manage users in your Command organizational account. Learn more about Roles and Permissions for Command.

Invite a user to your organization

With an Org Admin account, you can invite users to your organization's Command account and control their access. Once invited, your users receive an automatic email inviting them to create their account and set a password.

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.

  2. Under Org Settings, select Users.

  3. At the top right, select Add User.

  4. Enter the user's first name, last name, and email address.

  5. Optional. Add the user to a group or assign as Organization Admin.

  6. Select Assign Roles to grant user permissions.


    Note: Once roles are assigned, you only see the sites for those the user has permissions. You need to select Manage Roles to view/edit for the sites the user does not have current permissions.

  7. (Optional) Set an access control role, alarm console keycode, and user groups.

Your users should receive an email inviting them to your organization's Command account with the role permissions you define.

Note: If you or your users don't receive the invite email as expected, check your spam folder. Some email filters may prevent it from reaching your inbox.

Learn more about how you can also invite a temporary user to your organization. You can also learn about how to manage key contacts in your org.

Deactivate a user

You can deactivate these types of users: Command or System for Cross-Domain Identity Management (SCIM).

Deactivate Command users

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.

  2. Under Org Settings, select Users.

  3. Select the user you want to deactivate.

  4. Select the User Actions dropdown and select Deactivate User.

  5. Click Deactivate to confirm. The status should appear as Deactivated on the Users page.

Note: Once a user is deactivated, their permissions, group assignments, and so on cannot be changed. If you need to edit a user's data, they must be reactivated.

Deactivate SCIM users

If your users are SCIM-managed, you can deactivate them by performing the appropriate actions in your Identity Provider (IdP). Once synced, the user's status is switched to Deactivated.

⚠️ Warning. You cannot reactivate SCIM-deactivated users via Command. You must reactivate them by performing the appropriate actions in your IdP.

Reactivate a user

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.

  2. Under Org Settings, select Users > user's email.

  3. Select the User Actions dropdown and select Reactivate User.

  4. Click Reactivate to confirm.

Note: You can reactivate deactivated and deleted users.

Delete a user

When you no longer want a user to have access to your organization, you can remove them.

Note: Deleted user data is still retained in the organization.

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.

  2. Under Org Settings, select Users and then select the user to delete.

  3. Select the User Actions dropdown menu and select Delete User.

  4. Select Delete to confirm.

  5. (Optional) Bulk remove users: Next to each user's name you want to remove, check the box and click Remove.


    The user's status should appear as Deleted on the Users page.

Related resources


Need help? Contact Verkada Support

Did this answer your question?