Manage Your Sites and Subsites

Learn how to create and organize your sites and subsites to manage permissions

Updated yesterday

Verkada sites are a logical way of grouping and managing devices within Verkada Command, and provide several feature options that make managing and viewing the devices in a site easier.

Because site permissions are broken down into roles, you can also specify the type of access each user or group has to cameras within a site (Site Viewer or Site Admin). For example, to make your viewing experience more secure, you can only see cameras in the sites where you have been granted access. This allows you to scope which cameras are accessible to each user or group. Learn more about roles and permissions for cameras.

Subsites are used to grant permissions to specific sections of a site. This eliminates having to create a new site each time you need to scope permissions to one or more cameras. You can nest a subsite in other subsites providing a hierarchy of permissions for better access control. An example use case: Only allowing access to outdoor cameras.

You use the Manage Sites page as an integral part of how you configure (create, modify, and delete) your Verkada organizational settings.


Create a site

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. At the top right, click Manage Sites. Alternatively, on the left navigation, click the Sites icon.

  3. At the top right, click Create Site.

  4. Name your site and click Add.

Rename a site

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.

  2. On the left navigation, click the Sites icon.

  3. Click the ellipses icon and select Rename to change the name of the site. Alternatively, to the right, you can click the site's name to edit it inline.

Delete a site

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.

  2. On the left navigation, click the Sitesicon.

  3. Select the site that you want to delete.

  4. Confirm that all devices in that site have been deleted or moved to another site.

  5. At the top right, click the ellipses dropdown and select Delete.

Configure your site's settings and permissions

When you access and select a site, you have more options to configure for that site.

Note: These options are only available to users with Site Admin permissions.

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. In the left panel, select a specific site or click Manage Sites.

  3. Click the kebab icon and select a specific site.

  4. For selected site, configure these settings, as needed:

    • Reorder Cameras—Change the order in which you see the cameras. This feature is helpful where you can prioritize the feeds you want to see in a specific order.

    • View as Grid—Display all the cameras in the site as a grid.

    • View Site Stats—View trends of data usage for cameras at the site and individual level.

    • Set Bandwidth Limit—Restrict the amount of network resources allocated to camera-related activities, such as streaming.

    • Share SiteShare camera sites and floor plans (in bulk) to give people temporary access to a site or subsite.

    • Star SiteCreate a starred view to filter your most viewed sites.

Add cameras to an empty site

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. Scroll down until you see the empty site.

  3. Click the camera icon.

  4. Select Add New Cameras to be taken to the Add Devices page with this site preselected.

Move cameras to a new site

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. At the top left, check the box next to the camera's feed. You should see a bar at the top of the page.

  3. Use the Select Site dropdown box to select the destination site to move the cameras to

  4. Select Move Cameras to this site and add the cameras you want to move.

Manage your site's permissions

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.

  2. On the left navigation, click Sites.

  3. Select the site where you want to manage permissions.

  4. On the right pane, select Manage Permissions. You should see a list of all user groups and users in the organization.

  5. At the top right, use the search field to find a specific group or user and click that group's or user's row.

  6. Edit the various roles that apply to the user.

Note: You cannot edit roles that have been inherited from a parent site or a group.

Alternatively, you can manage your permissions as follows:

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. In the left panel, select a specific site or click Manage Sites.

  3. On the Sites page, at the far right, click Manage Permissions.

  4. Continue with steps above to manage your site's permissions, as needed.

View all sites

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.

  2. On the left navigation, click Sites.

Alternatively, for any Verkada device, at the top right, you can click Manage Sites.
All of your organization's sites are listed on the left, with subsites nested under their respective parent sites. Learn more about the various view options you can configure for your site below.

View your specific sites and subsites

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. By default, a site is selected. At the top of your collected footage (as shown), press Shift+hover over the title of the site allows you to quickly expand and collapse all parent sites at the same level. Or, optionally, click All Sites to see all of your sites.

  3. Next to the site name, click the kebab icon and select a specific site.

  4. Click Sites. and this expands the Sites panel (on the left), where you can see all sites (expand or collapse) and click through (or filter) the sites.

  5. On the sites panel, click Manage Sites to open the Sites page.

View additional details

You can view additional details about the selected site on the right pane:

  • Total number of devices contained in the site, broken down by device type.

  • Additional details if the site is an Alarm, Guest, or Mailroom site.

Create a starred site view

On your Sites page, at the top left, click the staricon next to the site you want to keep your most visited sites easily accessible.

On the right pane, you click the staricon (or click again to remove the star) for a site.

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. At the top, next to the site name, click the kebab dropdown and select Star Site. Alternatively, you can also create a star site from the Site Manager page.

  3. When you select a star site, that site displays on the left site navigation as Starred. Only the starred site/subsite displays on the menu. Sites higher or lower on the hierarchy aren't automatically starred.

Remove a star from a site

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. At the top, next to the site name, click the kebab dropdown and select Unstar Site. Alternatively, you can also unstar a site from the Site Manager page.

Manage subsites

Subsites are used to grant permissions to specific sections of a site. This eliminates having to create a new site each time you need to scope permissions to one or more cameras. You can nest a subsite in other subsites providing a hierarchy of permissions for better access control. An example use case: Only allowing access to outdoor cameras.

Create a subsite

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Admin.

  2. On the left navigation, click Sites.

  3. Select the site that you want to create a subsite for.

  4. At the top right, click Add Subsite.

  5. Name your subsite and click Add.

Create a subsite within a named site

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. At the top right, click Manage Sites.

  3. Hover over the site you where you want to create a subsite.

  4. At the far right of that site, click Subsite.

  5. On the Add New Subsite Within <"your selected site">, enter a new subsite name, and click Add.

Delete a subsite

Note: You cannot delete a site or subsite until all cameras and subsites have been removed.

  1. In Verkada Command, go to All Products > Cameras.

  2. At the top right, click Manage Sites.

  3. Hover over the site you want to delete.

  4. On the right side, click Delete.

  5. Click Delete to confirm.

Related resources


Need more help? Contact Verkada Support

Did this answer your question?